Screaming For Silence – Relentless (EP Review)

Screaming For Silence – Relentless (EP Review)

screaming for silenceWhen you think of Omaha Nebraska you probably don’t think hard rock music. Screaming For Silence are looking to shatter that preconceived notion. The band is consists of Zeb Christensen-Vocals, Danny Irwin-Guitar/Vocals, Casey Newsom-Lead Guitar, Matt Tatroe-Drums, Joseph “JoeBobb” Roberts-Bass. The guys have been spreading the word of their music with vigorous touring across the North America. Along with touring and word of mouth the guys released their debut EP Relentless last September 2012.

Working with respected [producers Justin McCain (Emphatic) and producer/sound engineer Matt Sepanic (Slipknot, Dirty Little Rabbits, Murderdolls) the EP consists of 4 tracks. The opening track “Separate” is a melodic alternative metal style track. With a vocal style in the vein of Coby Dick of Papa Roach among other vocalists in the alternative metal genre. Zeb Christensen is no copy cat by any means and adds his own unique style to singing. With a catchy anthem like vocal line and crunching guitars the track is very addictive. The guitar solo by Casey Newsom is placed in the perfect spot to add energy. “Helpless” is a another melodic track with catchy vocal line and memorable melody. With a hint of darkness in the guitar melody the song stands out here. There is a good balance of clean vocals by Christensen with background emotional screams by Danny Irwin. Newsom guitar solo yet again compliments the track midway through. This track could easily be heard on any hard rock format radio. The next track “You Play, I Deal” is possibly the heaviest here. With a bombastic mix of heavy guitars, bass and drums the song hits hard. Paying homage to a nu-metal style there is a great break down which leads into a ripping guitar solo by Newsom. “Pieces” is the most complete track off the band’s offering. Christensen puts on his best vocal performance singing all over the scale and reaching for the sky at points. The backing vocals are a perfect touch to the track making it catchy and fun. The guys close out the EP with a unique cover version of Eddie Money’s hit “Take Me Home Tonight”. Whether the band meant the cover to be a goof or something serious their rendition is highly respectable. The guitar sound is clean and follows the originals style adding an edge. What makes this cover unique is while being respectful to the original they definitely add their own spin on it.

Relentless is a high quality debut for Screaming For Silence. The 4 tracks shows the band to be a tight cohesive unit with a crisp sound. There is no doubt the guys have a knack for writing catchy songs and keep them heavy as well. This is a positive thing for a band so young in their career. It will be interesting to see the band grow as song writers and continue to build on a fan base. With a full length record the band could have more space to grow and provide a diverse mix of tracks . Cryptic Rock give this EP 3.5 out of 5 stars.


Like the in-depth, diverse coverage of Cryptic Rock? Help us in support to keep the magazine going strong for years to come with a small donation.
[email protected]
  • Avatar
    Posted at 01:52h, 17 September Reply

    Akron, Ohio backs you guys 100%! Much love!

Post A Comment

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons